Symphony Orchestra: American Voices


Please come out out to show your support for our community and the talented members of the Sonoma State University Orchestra in a performance of three twentieth-century American masterpieces!

Our program features Aaron Copland's inspiring and powerful Fanfare for the Common Man. Scored for brass and percussion alone, this work will be conducted by Brian Wilson, SSU Music Department Faculty member and Director of the Department's Brass Ensemble. Next it's on to one of the most-beloved pieces of American music, George Gershwin's delightful and jazzy Rhapsody in Blue, featuring piano soloist Nick Maritz, winner of the Sonoma State Symphony Orchestra's 2019 Concerto Competition. After intermission we'll conclude the program with Howard Hanson's epic Symphony No. 2, "Romantic," a masterpiece of orchestral writing by one of America's most influential composers and teachers.

Our concert takes place on Saturday November 16 at 7:30pm in the Green Music Center's Weill Hall, at Sonoma State University.

Copland, Fanfare for the Common Man
Gershwin, Rhapsody in Blue (Nick Maritz, soloist and 2019 Concerto Competition Winner)
Howard Hanson, Symphony No. 2, "Romantic"

Weill Hall
Admission Fees
$8.00 includes parking
Contact Email
Contact Phone
Date and Time Ticket Link
Saturday, November, 16, 2019, 7:30pm