Symphony Orchestra: Back to Bach

This is a bronze of the composer JS Back in Leipzig

Please join us at the Sonoma State University Symphony Orchestra’s season opener, Back to Bach, featuring music by JS Bach and later works from the Romantic period inspired by the composer. The concert opens with Johann Sebastion Bach’s Concerto for Two Violins, featuring the wonderful Aaron Westman and Anna Washburn as soloists. Washburn and Westman will then be joined on stage by violinist Tyler Lewis and cellist Gretchen Claassen to form the Sylvestris String Quartet, performing works by Brahms and Elgar. The concert concludes with the joyful and powerful Symphony No. 5, “Reformation,” by Felix Mendelssohn, written to commemorate the 300th anniversary of the German Reformation. 

Concert Program:
Bach, Concerto for Two Violins (Aaron Westman and Anna Washburn, violin soloists)
Brahms Fugue, WoO 9 in A minor
Elgar String Quartet in E minor
Mendelssohn, Symphony No. 5, “Reformation"


Weill Hall in the Green Music Center
Admission Fees
$8.00 includes parking
Contact Email
Contact Phone
Date and Time Ticket Link
Saturday, September, 28, 2019, 7:30pm